Hope #1

“We should ask God to increase our hope when it is small, awaken it when it is dormant, confirm it when it is wavering, strengthen it when it is weak, and raise it up when it is overthrown.” – John Calvin

 

We’ve been rainbow hunting lately.  There have been a number of storms in our area, a rarity the past few years.  Rain has been plentiful.  Each time the room lightened, that telltale sign that the sun is peeking out from behind the clouds, I dashed to a window or outside to see if there was a rainbow.

We found a few and it was such a delight to dash barefoot across the street with my girls in softly falling rain in order to glimpse the brilliant colors arcing across the sky as the light reflected of the falling drops of water.

That is how I desire my hope in the Lord to be.  That is how it should be.  The rain may be falling, but I know the sun is coming and because I remember how He has moved in the past, I look forward to how He will move in the future.  Then, when I get that small glimpse of His light, I run to see it!  I expect it.  Though I may still be in trial, feeling the drops on my head, I also see the light and the color and the beauty that he give in the midst of those trials.

May my hope ever be so.

hope2

hope1

Leave a Reply

