A Word.

Last year was the first year I chose “a word” for the year.

I typically avoid trends like that, but for the first time I truly felt as though God had placed certain words on my heart. So, I held those words close and pondered them throughout the year and looking back I can see the positive impact they had. This year, without really intending too, I chose another word. Or, perhaps, it chose me? The word that has been lingering in my heart and fluttering about my mind is this: Hope.

I’ve been trying to rise earlier to read God’s word and just breathe before the pressures of the day begin and I began by looking to the Psalms.  Many of the verses that jumped out at me and whose words I copied onto 3 x 5 cards, contained that simple word: hope.

hope

I think this word is dear to me now, because of our life season.

  • We live in 816 square feet with three small children and one on the way and we see no possibilities for us to find a larger home in our current town.  For that situation, we need hope.
  • We both work and my husband is often exhausted from his job and I often resent the time that mine takes away from my family and we are decreasing my work hours in the fall without knowing if we can financially handle such a decrease. For that situation, we need hope.
  • We are pregnant with a fourth child, which will give us four children five and under very soon, a blessing and a challenge for sure.  We are nervous about our upcoming ultrasound due to some concerns for the baby and my history of miscarriages. For that situation, we need hope.
  • We dream of living on more open space, but see no means. We dream of me not working, but see no means. I dream of deeper friendships, yet I wait. We dream of many things that seem to be merely that, dreams.  For each of those situations, we need hope.

Are you clinging to a word?  A phrase?  Or, like me, are you merely resting in hope?

I’ll leave you with a few of the scriptures that have really resounded with me at the start of this new year, and THIS message from Charles Spurgeon.  Hold fast to hope, my friends.

PSALM 34: 4 I sought the Lord, and he answered me and delivered me from all my fears.

PSALM 31:24 Be strong, and let your heart take courage, all you who wait for the Lord!

PSALM 33:22 Let your steadfast love, O Lord, be upon us, even as we hope in you.

PSALM 36:7 – 9 How precious is your steadfast love, O God! The children of mankind take refuge in the shadow of your wings. They feast on the abundance of your house, and you give them drink from the river of your delights. For with you is the fountain of life; in your light do we see light.

 

xo Jenny

 

3 thoughts on “A Word.

  1. Jenny – this was the perfect post to read! Hope has been my word for the past several years but this year it seemed to pop up everywhere. I am so glad He is our hope. Thanks for the post and I will be praying for you as you lean on that hope in the coming year.

  2. Glad to see you are blogging again! 🙂 i always enjoy reading your posts. My word for the year is enjoy! Not to add anything more (to raising 4 children, 4 and under) or anything less, just enjoy it now (that I am no longer in survival mode! Lol)
    Take care!

Leave a Reply

