{Dreading and Doing}

justdoit

I often dread certain tasks:

Dishes when they are piled up.

Cleaning the tub.

Folding tons of tiny baby clothes . . . again.

So, I put them off and the dread increases and increases.  As does the guilt, and the mess.

Then, I finally summon the energy and motivation to complete the task and I realize that the dread was far worse than the actual doing.

So, whatever is on your plate today, do it.  Don’t allow dread to weigh you down all day.  Start with that most-loathed task and tackle it first.

For me, that often means tidying up the kitchen before we leave the house.  I know that the sink will only become more and more filled with items throughout the day and then cooking dinner will become a dreaded task since it will require more dishes in an already untidy kitchen.

So, pay those bills. Wash the floor.  Whatever task you’ve been dreading, do it.

Then, enjoy your weekend!

Now, I’m off to do a load of laundry (for the third time . . . oops) and then I will put in the dryer . . . I promise!

Proverbs 14:23  In all toil there is profit, but mere talk tends only to poverty.

Leave a Reply

