{Menu Plan Monday}

Hello!

It’s Monday again!

I’m not typically one of those people who whines about Monday, but this week I was a little scared.

Last week was particularly challenging and exhausting and I don’t feel like I recovered much on the weekend. (Guess I shouldn’t have stayed up reading until midnight on Saturday, oops).

Anyway, thankfully I had what I would call an “easy” week of dinners last week.  God knew what challenges I’d be facing and had me plan more simple meals to keep me from completely losing my mind. HA!

Here is an incredibly professional cell phone photo of my menu board from last week:

menu

I fill this out every week after brainstorming our menu.

The line simply is there because i typically start on a Tuesday and end on the following Monday.

I follow the plan, but sometimes switch up the order if unexpected things happen (such as forgetting to take the crockpot freezer meal out of the freezer the night before . . . twice).

This week for dinner we had:

TUESDAY: BBQ burgers for our growth group.  I made the patties provided the condiments and everyone else brought the sides. I also made this amazing chocolate peanut butter bar recipe for dessert.  It is one of my faves!

*Kids ate this!

WEDNESDAY: Baked Potato night!  I sometimes change up the toppings, but this was simple.  Potatoes, Cheese, and salsa with broccoli on the side.

*kids ate plain potatoes, cheese slices, and boiled carrots

THURSDAY: Tostadas is another easy go-to.  Tostada shells, refried beans, tomatoes, avocado, taco sauce, lettuce.  YUM!

*kids had quesadillas and carrots with hummus

FRIDAY: We ended up doing Pork Chops on this night.  I rub them in ranch dressing and then in bread crumbs.  Sometimes I bake them, but this time they went into a covered pan that had a thing layer of olive oil in it.  I boiled the corn on the cob, made some mashed potatoes (2 potatoes boiled and mashed, butter, milk, cream cheese, salt, pepper), and I made 30 minute rolls.

*kids ate this!

SATURDAY: Grilled Cheese and Tomato Soup. Another fave!  We actually used leftover rolls to make mini grilled cheese sandos and then heated up some soup and ate it with broccoli on the side.

*kids ate this!

SUNDAY:  I finally remembered to thaw the freezer meal, so we had Honey Sesame Chicken served on rice with parmesan zucchini on the side (Sliced zucchini rounds brushed with olive oil and sprinkled with parmesan and baked at 350 for 10 min.)

*kids ate this with more carrots!

LUNCHES THIS WEEK:  egg salad sandos, PB and J, Smoothies, leftovers, crackers, yogurt, cheese sticks, apples, etc.

BREAKFAST THIS WEEK: french toast, scrambled eggs and fried potatoes, oatmeal, fried eggs and bacon, cereal, dutch babies.

What is on your menu for this week?  I am really excited for all the food this week!  It is starting out with dinner at our favorite burger joint to kick of hubby’s b-day week!  Then lots of yummy things to follow and another recipe to double, so I can keep my freezer stocked!

One thought on “{Menu Plan Monday}

Leave a Reply

