{Feeling Fulfilled}

I’ve always had a heart to be a wife, a mother, and a homemaker.

However, it isn’t always quite the dream life I anticipated.

I don’t think that this is because the life is terrible, but rather because of my expectations and because of the lies that our society has told us about motherhood and fulfillment.

I recently read Lucy Maud Montgomery’s Pat of Silver Bush (which I definitely recommend, by the way).

This quote, by Pat’s mother, stood out to me.

“I’ve been so happy here . . . How I loved to wake up in the night and feel that my husband and my children were well and safe and warm, sleeping peacefully. Life hasn’t anything better to offer than that, Patsy.”

How opposite of what society says!  How opposite of our culture’s self-centered agenda!

It’s no wonder that women today do not feel fulfilled.

We are told that being a wife and a mother is not enough.  We are told that we need to have our own hobbies and careers and activities outside of the home.

Having those things aren’t bad at all, but they won’t fulfill us.  We shouldn’t feel that without something beyond our jobs as wives or mothers, we can not be fulfilled.

God designed us to be fulfilled by Him first and foremost.  Beyond that, we are designed to be fulfilled by whatever God has called us to. Whatever.  Not what other people say is worthy.

And so, we are not fulfilled.  When we are in our seemingly small world of home duties and child rearing, we hear our culture screaming at us that there should be more.  And so we want more.  We believe the lie that our current calling could not possibly fulfill us.

This quote by Lucy Maud Montgomery challenges that.  It suggests that our home life can fulfill us, if we will let us.

Even more, scripture challenges society’s claim that women need more than their family life to make them worthwhile.

“Whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.” 1 Corinthians 10:31

“Whatever your hand finds to do, do it with all your might,” Ecclesiastes 9:10

I need to stop looking for fulfillment elsewhere.  I need to stop surviving between naps and bedtimes.  I need to stop constantly looking forward to the times I get to do something other than cook or clean or mother.  Because whatever I’m looking forward to, whatever relaxation or extracurriculars, they will be temporary.  My role as a wife and mother is lifelong.

If I seek fulfillment in my God, my husband, and my children, I will be much happier and much more fulfilled.

Where have you been seeking fulfillment?

20150621_190144 IMG_20150704_151716 IMG_20150714_121602 IMG_20150716_093624

 

 

Leave a Reply

