{In Green Pastures}

My daughter and I are memorizing Psalm 23 together.  Well, truly, I wanted her to memorize it and I am re-learning it along the way.  I’ve always loved that Psalm.  Probably all of the allusions to nature.

“He make me to lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside still waters.”

_MG_5072

I’ve been thinking about the “green pastures” part and I had a sort of revelation.

Nothing monumental and something I should have noticed long, long ago.

You see, all my life I have dreamed of living somewhere beautiful. I grew up amidst mountains and redwoods and I traveled to many places with epic views and scenery beyond compare.

I always said to anyone within earshot, “Imagine waking up to that view every day.  Imagine living here!”

_MG_5075

_MG_5074

Skip forward to living in a coastal town in central California and I thought those dreams were gone forever.  I would have to be satisfied with this place and content to visit other places.  I have been praying for “contentment in spite of” the views out my windows.

Now, this is ridiculous, because these hills are literally right out my windows.  One from my bedroom window and one from my daughters’.  They are obscured slightly by houses and trees, but they are there.  Oh, and a one minute drive and short uphill walk brought us to these incredibly vistas.

_MG_5100

_MG_5107

_MG_5097

God literally answered my prayer of having a beautiful view out of my window, but I had failed to notice it because it wasn’t the sort of view I expected.  I dreamt of glacial peaks and forrest and meadows of wildflowers. I’ve always been deeply impacted by rugged terrain and beautiful scenery.

Perhaps, God answered my prayer without giving me my ultimate dream because I need to have a longing.  I need to be unsatisfied by this world at times in order that I might hunger for another world, a better world that I can not have in life.

Perhaps.

For now.  I will rejoice and praise God for this answered prayer.  I will try, try, try to stop lamenting what I do not have and rejoice in what I do. I will “lie down in [these] green pastures”.

_MG_5084

What is your ideal view? Mountains?  Beaches? I’m a mountains and rivers girl, all the way.

3 thoughts on “{In Green Pastures}

  1. “He make me to lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside still waters.” Psalm 23 is such a comforting verse. You view is beautiful. I love the outdoors my self…camping especially. My ideal view: Mountains and lakes! 🙂

  2. Your views are the ones I lived with for nearly 20 years. I have Rocky Mountain views now, but those all around you are the ones that say “home” to me. Let me know if you want to trade! 😉

Leave a Reply

