{So . . .}

Sooooo . . .

I was contemplating getting rid of the blog because:

1. What is the point?

2. Who even reads it?!

I have struggled with the point and purpose of the blog.  I love keeping track of my kids growth, especially during their first year.  I don’t do a baby journal, so this blog is really my only record of their developments that first year.

However, I have a hard time bringing myself to write about other stuff like home decorating, cooking, clothes (I almost laughed out loud because a fashion guru I am not).  I just feel like that stuff matters so little in life. Sometimes I just think, “Seriously, no one needs another tutorial on curling their hair with a flat iron, there are starving people!”  I know that curling your hair does not negate your ability to care about starving people, I just . . .

don’t know! And let’s get real . . . I’m never going to be a “Blogger” in the cool sense of the word.

I guess it is because I am not really an expert at anything and although I enjoy dressing cute and decorating my home, it’s not something I can really do at all right now because of finances.

Basically, I am a boring human being.

So, let’s hear it: what are your favorite blogs?  Why?

Here are a few I follow.  Why?  Some because they are amazing people with mad skillz.  Others because they are funny, and others because they are real life friends. Some are encouraging.  Some are women I want to be because they are so, so, so very cool.

Enjoy!

The Vanilla Tulip

Whatever

Him, Me, & the Pipsqueak

Mason Jars & Peanut Butter

Wildflowers Photography

The Pioneer Woman

Life. Rearranged

Women Living Well

 

10 thoughts on “{So . . .}

  1. Your blog is on my list of blogs I enjoy reading because you are real, inspiring in the areas of motherhood, DIY projects, and all things creative! And on a more serious note, when you share about what God has been putting on your heart and teaching you it helps me have a different perspective too. Hope you choose to keep it!

  2. Hi Jenny! I adore your blog! I find your life so interesting and inspiring. As a Christian, newlywed-ish, financially-anxious woman, I find your faith in God very encouraging. Please don’t stop blogging! Ps love seeing your girls grow up too 🙂

  3. You should keep blogging. If you want that is…if it’s still fun. I figure when it feels like a burden that’s when I’ll quit. And I’ve definitely taken some long breaks. 🙂 That being said some of my fave blogs are:

    Yours 😉
    It’s a Hunt Life
    Marshall’s Abroad
    101 Cookbooks
    Gussy Sews (I think it’s renamed to Maggie Whitley or something like that)
    Life Rearranged

    Actually, I think that’s all I’m up on now a days. No time…and some of the ones I used to like have kinda turned…”commercial”? Blah.

  4. I think you are cool. I read your bog. I think its cool to put your life out there. I like seeing that I connect with so many other women and I’m not alone in my daily struggles. So, that’s my 2 cents 🙂
    I also like:
    http://www.mountainmamacooks.com/…yummy, healthy, delish looking food ideas
    http://www.danamadeit.com/…I want to be her. She’s got a few kids, my kids ages, sews fun, easy stuff, makes yummy snacks, has cute design ideas.
    http://www.lilblueboo.com/…this woman is pretty incredible. I like her perspective on life. It reminds me to slow down.
    http://www.makeit-loveit.com/….lots of cute, simple sewing ideas for life with kids. I don’t make a lot but I aspire to.

  5. I read because I know you and love you. I blog myself because it’s a place for me to document and process and from what I know, it seems like you blog for the same reasons. Don’t get rid of the blog because you feel like others might not read it. If this is a space for you to process life, to be a creative outlet, or simply to document your kids, then that’s plenty reason to keep it! Don’t feel like you need to follow blog rules, blog regularly or post about clothes because that’s what others do. You do you, girl. I have found that my favorite bloggers are not “typical” bloggers and really just do their own thing. Love you!

  6. I also hope you keep your blog! I have been following your blog since you were pregnant with Addie, and I was pregnant with my first child, then I got pregnant with my second child around the same time as you also! So even though I don’t really “know” you, I feel we are in the very same season of life and I really appreciate your thoughts and insights on motherhood/family life. And I especially appreciate how honest you are about your feeling and struggles (way more than how to curl hair…although your post about how a bobby pin changed your life was pretty helpful :). So, you are a devoted mom and wife and that is way better than being an “expert” on anything else. Keep on blogging! 🙂

    • Thanks so much for the encouragement! I do enjoy writing and so much of this is for me to document and process, but it’s true that I love knowing that people have fun reading my blog or are encouraged by it!

Leave a Reply

