{Hearty Beef Stew}

It has finally been rainy and windy and cloudy and cool around these parts!

Hooray!

So, it was time to bust out Mom’s stew. Always a favorite in our home, fairly easy and quick, and relatively inexpensive!

I made it last night for 18 people!  18!!!!  I used 3 pans and a pot and all four burners!

Related: I am severely out of shape as evidenced by the fact that my arm was on FIRE after chopping 8 russet potatoes.  Whenever a situation like this occurs I always think of the verse, “her arms are strong for her task,” and then I feel convicted. HA!

Anyway, flabby biceps aside, It is a delicious, comforting, and hearty stew and a bunch of people wanted the recipe, so here you go! No pictures because “ain’t nobody got time for that”.

POTATOES (Brown Russet)

CARROTS

STEW BEEF (Cut in chunks.  Might need to cut them in half before cooking)

BEEF GRAVY (IN CANS)

(The amounts depend on how much you want to make and the ratio of beef to veggies you like)

In a deep pan, pour a little olive oil and place the meat in.  Salt it however you like.  I used Montreal steak seasoning, salt, and pepper.

Brown meat.

Add in chopped carrots and potatoes (no peeling necessary).

Pour in beef gravy. Cover and Cook on low for approximately an hour stirring ever so often to keep it from sticking to the pan (until potatoes and carrots are soft).

Serve with fresh bread (any kind) for dipping.  Or, if you are like me, for sopping up every last drip of gravy. mmmmmm.

Ok, I’m off to eat leftovers from last night.  Enjoy!

Oh, and here is your deep, philosophical question of the day: Do you use a spoon or a fork for stew?  I mean, it could really go either way.  I am a fork girl myself!

Leave a Reply

