{Motherhood and Gardening}

_MG_3551

If you saw the baby shower I threw this month, you know it was a gardening theme.

As the only mother at the shower (It was a growth group shower and we lead a newly married’s growth group), it fell to me to give the encouragement, a trend at all of the showers I have had and have attended for my friends.  However, I usually ask some more experienced and wiser woman to share their knowledge and encouragement with the mama-to-be.

I was a little intimidated at first.  I mean, who was I to be giving advice?  I only have two children and the oldest is only two and I do things wrong ALL. THE. TIME.  However, I remembered that it isn’t about me being a good mother; it is about God being a good God and being sufficient.

So, I went with the gardening theme and found a verse to use for my little session of encouragement.  It ended up encouraging me a lot as well.

I thought I’d pass it along to any other mamas out there who need some wisdom from the word!

ISAIAH 58:11

The Lord will guide you continually,

And satisfy your soul in drought,

And strengthen your bones;

You shall be like a well-watered garden, And like a spring of water, whose waters do not fail.

Oh, I need these words etched into my heart!

The Lord will guide you continually,

As a mother, there are always concerns: what is wrong with my child? am I doing this right? How should I do this?  There are also many blogs, websites, books, and opinions on how mothers should do things.

However, God is the creator of our children and he designed each stage of infancy, childhood, etc.  Therefore, we should seek His guidance first, trust His wisdom, and cry out to Him in need.  You might think he doesn’t care about nap schedules or diaper rashes, but He does.  In fact, he designed your child’s body and sleep cycle. Rest in that.

And satisfy your soul in drought,

As mothers, we experience droughts.  We have less time with our husband and friends.  We may even have less in common with friends who don’t have children yet.  We may experience a personal drought as we are less involved at work or not working outside the home at all.  We have less time for ourselves and often less time in the Word.  Ultimately, Christ is the only thing that can quench our thirst.  He can fill those emptied places.  He can and will satisfy.  He is our source in time of drought.

So, continue to pray and to read the Word.  One wise woman encouraged young moms to leave their Bible open, perhaps near to the location where we nurse. Then, even if we only read one verse, that verse will start to stick and will lift us up!

And strengthen your bones;

This one really spoke to me.  As a mama I am often tired, I am often hungry, and I suffer physical pain.  Up at night, up early, lifting children, no time to eat, pregnancy, labor, side effects from it all.  It takes a toll!

God is our healer and He is our strength.  When you feel you are at your limit and the exhaustion takes over, then lean on Him.  When your strength is gone, you still have His!

You shall be like a well-watered garden, And like a spring of water, whose waters do not fail.

This part is my favorite because it shows that we will persevere.  We will survive! We may not receive bounding energy and perfect sleep-filled nights and a date night every week and an hour of Bible study time, but we will receive what we need, when we need it.  Just as a gardener gives exactly the right amount of water to the plants to keep them alive and help them to thrive, so God will provide for us!

Amen!

I hope I can memorize this verse and claim its truths!  I pray you will to

Leave a Reply

