{Crockpot English Apple Cider}

(
In honor of the fact that yesterday was cloudy, windy, and cool (finally), I have a fall recipe for you!

For as long as I can remember my family has had Wassail (pronounced Wassle) during Thanksgiving celebrations.

Wassail is an English Apple Cider that was drunk to guarantee a good apple harvest the following year.

More importantly, it is delicious!  I drink way too many cups of the stuff during the holiday season.

We always made it on the stove, but LIFE, so I attempted it in the crockpot.

So easy and it tastes just as delicious! It also doesn’t hurt that it makes your house smell AMAZING!

I love it so much, I am sharing the family recipe (with a few slight changes) with all of you!

Ingredients:


4 qts apple cider
1 heaping tsp whole allspice
1 heaping tsp whole nutmeg
1 heaping tsp whole cloves
4 cinnamon sticks
1 can orange juice concentrate (thawed)
1/3 cup brown sugar

Directions:

Pour two quarts apple cider into crockpot.  

Add all the spices.

Let cook on high for 1 hour. Strain (or strain after second hour for a stronger, spicier taste).



Add two more quarts apple cider, orange juice concentrate, and brown sugar.  



Cook another hour.

Enjoy and toast to next year’s apple harvest!

4 thoughts on “{Crockpot English Apple Cider}

    • I know! I need to make this again soon! I’d love to do coffee! The littlest naps at 9:30 and again at 1 and the oldest “naps” around noon. I teach online on Wed/Thu mornings, but other than that, I am free!

  1. Pingback: {insta-love} |

Leave a Reply

