{4 years}

Nanninga-Wedding-699 A beautiful wedding.

An adventurous honeymoon.

A small rental.

Trips to Yosemite, Tahoe, Catalina, Lake Shasta, Banff.

Buying a house.

Having a baby.

Raising chickens.

Adopting a dog and having to say goodbye to a dog.

Having another baby.

Christmases, Thanksgivings, Easters.

Building a shed, putting in a lawn and a patio.

Hosting a growth group for three years.

Changing jobs, side jobs, financial distress, financial miracles.

Making new friends and saying goodbye to friends.

Losing grandparents.

Learning. Growing. Loving.

That’s a lot in four years.  We’ve walked together through a lot. I can’t wait to see what is next.

Nanninga-Wedding-692

Marriage is such an amazing, challenging, unique experience.  I love it.  It can bring out your worst and can bring out your best.  I am praying that it will bring out more of my best as it reveals to me my worsts and I strive to give those areas to the Lord.  There is so much I could say about marriage: what I’ve learned and what I hope to learn.  However, I will simply say this:

LOVE YOUR MAN.

That encompasses so much, really.  When you are frustrated with him, love him.  When you are unsure of his decisions or angry, love him.  When you are hurt or tired or stressed or overwhelmed, love him.

By now I’ve learned that love in a man’s eyes is respect, so I suppose you could substitute love with RESPECT in the previous paragraph.  But, my one encouragement is this.  Do it.  Even when you don’t want to and even when you are right and he is wrong.  Do it. Because you do love him, despite it all, and because love is a choice you make each day and an action you live out.  Trust me, you will reap the benefits and your marriage will flourish, and if not . . . you will honor God with the way you honor your husband.  WOW!  Marriage is incredible.

Nanninga-Wedding-343

YOU CAN FIND OUR LOVE STORY HERE.

OUR WEDDING STORY HERE.

OUR HONEYMOON STORY HERE.

One thought on “{4 years}

Leave a Reply

