{Simple Spring Wreath}

springwreath.png

*linking up with Someday crafts 

Spring is here and the weather is beginning to cooperate with the season!

This always puts me in the mood to decorate my home for the new season.

Making a wreath for my door is a fun and easy way to welcome spring, however, I don’t have the space to store numerous wreaths.

So, I like to make simple wreaths that are pretty, but easy to change when a new season rolls around. Also, I have a very small window of time for anything crafty now that I am navigating two little ones and a combined total of four naps per day (Naps that require numerous instances of soothing or nursing).

Anyway, I start with a basic grapevine wreath (they are great for tying things to or hot glueing onto).

Then, I add something fun!  This year I decided to add some bunting.

Here are the materials I used:

  • Grapevine wreath
  • fabric scraps
  • Baker’s twine
  • Hot glue gun
  • Spray paint (optional)

I didn’t feel like hauling out the sewing machine to make my bunting, so I created a no-sew version that was quick and easy.

Here are the simple steps:

1. Cut the fabric scraps into your desired shape (I used squares). You can also iron the fabric squares if necessary.

2. Fold the fabric over the baker’s twine so that it overlaps a bit.

3. Adhere with hot glue.

4. Cut baker’s twine to desired length.  I used two separate sections for my wreath.

5. Tie the garland to your wreath.

_MG_2335 _MG_2336

Really, you can make this tutorial your own.  Perhaps make only one garland and add your family initial?  I added a few flower pins that I have had for a long time.

Another suggestion is spray-painting your wreath first.  I have considered this since we have an old, brown door and the natural color of the grapevine wreath tends to blend in. I actually tried to paint it white, but used a really cheap can of spray paint that didn’t fully cover it, so now it sort of looks like a Haunted Mansion spring wreath. HA!  I am thinking I will re-paint it with a more quality paint or a darker color, such as teal.

Have fun with this project!  This can really work for any season as well, as long as you have the necessary fabric.

Enjoy!

 

_MG_2337

Leave a Reply

