{Starting Fresh}

Last week, I welcomed you to this new space.

How do you like it?

Personally, I am in love.  New, fresh, clean, ahhhhhhhh, it gives me purpose.

Which brings me to the topic of this post.

Why?  Why did I start over? Why not simply redo the old blog?

First of all, I am not very tech savvy and the thought of navigating blog codes and changing template designs skeeeeered me! I actually tried and became increasingly frustrated. I had heard some good things about wordpress, so I checked it out.  It was simple and effective. BOOM. SOLD!

Second, I feel like my old blog was sort of just existing and although I posted here and there, there really wasn’t a theme.  I need a theme.  I’m an English teacher after all.  But, really, what I mean is that I needed purpose. I felt as though when I began my blog, it had a purpose, chronicling the ups and downs of newlywed life. While by some people’s standards I may still be a newlywed, it has been three years, two babies, one home purchase, a job change, five chickens, and one dog later! There is so much more going on!

Third, I want to write.  Really, really write.  I don’t want to merely slap a few pictures on the blog with a quick caption here or there (which is basically what I have been doing).  I want to write words that matter.  I didn’t have a creative writing emphasis in college for nothing!

So, what does this mean for my blog?  Not much, really.  It looks different.  It is easier to navigate.  Hopefully, you like that.

What I really want is to use this blog for good.  That good might be updates on my children for my family to see.  It might be homemaking tips.  It may manifest itself through crafty tutorials.  It may be funny at times and poignant at others.  Perhaps I will write about our chickens or vacations.  Hopefully, it can benefit my family and help me sell some products through my shop.  All of that would be nice.

However . . . I also want what I write to matter.  I want it to glorify God.  So, here, in a nutshell, are my goals for this “new” space:

The Sweet Stuff is a place for women to feel encouraged and challenged in their roles as wives and mothers. I strive to love God and my family and hope that my readers will be inspired to do the same.  I hope to offer advice, helpful tips and links, and refreshment to my readers.  My love for DIY projects and making a house a home is something I want to share.  I am learning as I go here in this role of Jesus-follower, wife and mother.  I hope you’ll learn with me!

Thanks for stopping by!  Don’t forget to click the “follow” button, “like” me on facebook, or add me to your blog roll.  That way you can be updated whenever I post.  It won’t be every day (remember those two kids, five chickens, dog, and husband I mentioned?), but I hope that every day I do post is meaningful!

xoxo Jenny

One thought on “{Starting Fresh}

Leave a Reply

