{For Him}

Disclaimer:  I have this creepy feeling that I already wrote this post, but I can’t find it anywhere, so I am assuming I wrote it in my head and I am writing for real now.  If this is repetitive, well it is good stuff, so no biggie!

*     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *    *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *    *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *    

This weekend, hubby and I are escaping to a marriage conference.

We will be attending the Weekend to Remember Marriage Conference at the Tenaya Lodge near Yosemite.

I am SO excited!  (Although I admittedly burst into tears last night at the thought of being away from my baby girl overnight for the first time ever.  It will be two nights away, people!)

In the spirit of supporting marriages, I wanted to share something that Addie and I have been doing recently to make hubby feel loved.

I’ve mentioned it before, but one big thing that shows love to my husband is how I prepare for his homecoming each day.

Now, I don’t accomplish this every day, but I try to at least do some of the things.

1. I talk about “Daddy” to Addison, so that she is excited to see him.  I especially amp this up about thirty minutes before his arrival.  This has led to hugs when he comes home and fun one-on-one playtime for the two of them.

2. I prepare us physically.  I tidy up my clothes and hair and rub on some yummy-smelling lotion.  Sometimes there is an apron over everything if I am still preparing dinner, but I try to look fresh.  I also clean up Addie and put her in a clean diaper, so she and daddy can begin playing immediately.

3. I prepare the home.  We clean up excess toys and tidy up any other items that have been left out from the day.  I am trying to have an empty sink in the kitchen when hubby gets home (unless there are dishes from a meal I am currently making) or at least the clean dish rack is empty. 

4. I set the mood.  Maybe this is lighting a candle, turning on some worship music in the background, playing the “Fireplace for your Home” video on Netflix during the holiday season.  If it is cold, I might run the heater for a bit.  If it is hot, I crack some windows for fresh air.

5. I prepare meals.  I attempt to have dinner ready or cooking by the time hubby gets home.  Having the table set already allows me to chat with hubby while I dish up food or stir ingredients, or wait for the crock-pot or oven to do the work.  Having dinner a bit earlier than He and I really need to allows all three of us to eat together as a family.

6. I prepare a treat.  This doesn’t happen every day, but it could!  Sometimes I pop in a frozen cookie for an after-work snack.  I might have a big glass of ice water waiting.  I’ve blended homemade frappucinos and juices before.

7. I try to be patient.  Right when he walks in the door I usually let him hang up his coat and set down his lunch and greet Addie before I start chatting.  Then, when I begin talking I try to always start with a greeting and some questions about his day, rather than bombarding him with news about mine or demands for help.  Sometimes, we wait outside to meet daddy.

And then, sometimes life is crazy and dinner isn’t ready, Addie is throwing a fit and I am in tears or throwing kitchen gadgets across the room in frustration . . . you know . . . hypothetically . . . AHEM.

But, he knows that is the exception.  He feels loved by my attempts to make home a peaceful place to come to.


You’ve heard this phrase? I think I have even posted this before.


I am trying to work on my end of it.

What are your tips and tricks for welcoming your husband home?

Leave a Reply

