{Celebrating}

Birthdays are a big deal to me.

I love celebrating them.

I love planning for them.

I love making them special.

So, it was a matter of course that I wanted baby girl’s birthday to be special.

No matter that she is a mere 12 months old.

I know she won’t remember.  She will, however, see pictures someday and know how much I love her and how much I wanted her first birthday to be a wonderful one.

I have always had this idea that I would make or buy my little girl a crown for every birthday (until she refuses to wear them) and the tradition began this year.

We decorated the night before with a birthday sign and some balloons hung from the light in the kitchen (just the way we decorated our home when I was a child, after the birthday boy or girl had gone to bed).

I took the day off work and in the morning we had waffles, strawberries, and whipped cream outside on the patio.

We went to lunch with daddy at the park.

We went to the barn to feed the goats.  Addie was terrified by an over-zealous goat at first and would cry if I got within ten feet.  But, by the end she became brave enough to plop herself down and feed them all by herself.  I was so proud.

Then, after feeding the little one her dinner and helping her open her present, we headed out to the Farmer’s Market in Avila.

The weather was amazing and it was the perfect end to a special day.

Leave a Reply

