{A Letter to my Daughter}

To my sweet Addison June,



You are six and a half months already.  I can’t believe it.  I look at you today and I can’t believe you are the same tiny little girl that I brought home from the hospital.  The same seven pound babe that slept on my shoulder and in my arms all day for weeks.  




You still sleep a lot, but mostly at night.  In fact, you sleep twelve hours straight almost every night.  Your napping still changes frequently, but you don’t seem to mind.  You are so happy.

Daddy says that you “got crazy” on your six month birthday.  Crazy as in “crazy fun”.  You splash in the tub now, you love to bounce in your jumparoo.  Your favorite words are “Babababa” and sometimes you even say “Mamamama”.  You are definitely a talker.



You like to sit up, but sometimes you tip over still.  That is why mommy is always putting pillow around you.  You don’t really enjoy being on your tummy, so I wonder if you will crawl soon or not. Experienced moms tell me to enjoy the fact that you can’t get into everything yet.



You are still curious though.  Today you wanted mommy’s yarn.  I was crocheting.  So, I gave you a skein and you played and played and played with it.  You seem to like to play with things that aren’t really toys more than your toys.  Your favorite toys right now are the triangle, circle, and square blocks.  You have discovered that they make noise when they hit each other.

You also really enjoy playing with straps.  Car seat straps, stroller straps, and high-chair straps.  You chew on them all the time.  probably because you are teething.  One little bottom tooth has already starting poling through your gums.  Mommy knows it hurts sometimes.  I hate thinking that you are in pain.



However, you have been able to start eating solids.  So far, rice cereal and sweet potatoes are all we have tried.  You love to gobble up your sweet potatoes.  Mommy is making you some new foods to try this week.

I love being your mom, Addie.  It is the single greatest job I have ever had.  I love taking you to the park and watching your excitement as you swing.  I love playing with you on the floor and reading books on our backs.  I love looking out the window with you at the trees blowing in the wind and I love snuggling you as we rock in the chair in your room.

I never get tired of being with you and when I sometimes leave you with your grandma, aunt, or daddy, I always miss you and am so happy to see your smiling face when I return.  


You have such a sweet and fun personality.

In about five weeks mommy will be going back to work for part of each weekday.  I want you to know that I wish I could stay at home with you.  Mommy and daddy bought a house to keep you warm and dry in.  Houses cost money, so mommy has to make some money.  That is why I will be gone.  You will get to play with grandma and your aunt and your cousins.  How fun!  

I want you to know that I love you and that my heart is breaking over leaving you each day.  I’m not sure how I will endure it.  I want you to know that every moment I am gone, I will be thinking of you.

I am praying that I won’t have to go to work forever.  I am praying that God will make a way for mommy to work at home so she can stay with you, which is where she wants to be more than anything.  More than anything in the whole wide world.  

All I ever dreamed of when I was growing up was getting married and having a family.  How blessed am I to have those things, now?  God is good, my daughter.  He is good all the time.  Even though mommy was crying today while she rocked you before your nap because she was thinking about leaving you at home, she still trusts God.  She still believes that He is in control and that He has a plan and a purpose.  Mommy’s heart is just so full of love for you, that sometimes it spills out in tears.



I love my little not-quite-thirteen-pounds peanut.  

Love,

Mama

One thought on “{A Letter to my Daughter}

Leave a Reply

