{The Power of Paint}

I have long been a fan of paint and its seemingly supernatural powers.

I was allowed to paint a few of the rentals I’ve lived in over the years.  It always made the temporary spaces feel more like a home.

After marriage, a spray paint obsession began and it has yet to dissipate.

Everything looks so much better with paint.  Truly.  It can work miracles.

So, as I spend this months talking about being @ HOME, I thought I’d share a paint-centered upgrade to our little home.

We have made a lot of improvements in our home, but nothing I would refer to as a remodel.

However, the simple changes have made a huge difference.

I bring you: The Hallway Upgrade.

We have a hallway.  It is tiny. (Apparently I didn’t take a before pic of this angle, but you can see all the rest of the before pics HERE)


Yes, that is it.  All of it.

Pretty much every upgrade we made was done with paint.

– Rug?  Free, from my Grandpa and painted following tips from this tutorial.

– Walls?  Painted Raffia Cream from Glidden.

– Trim and doors?  Painted Frost from Glidden. (The doors were previously an icky, beaten-up brown).

– Hall closet doors?  Raffia cream again

– Doorknobs?  Sprayed with ORB (Oil Rubbed Bronze by Rustoleum). They were previously shiny gold.

– End table?  Belonged to hubby before marriage.  We might paint it at some point, but for now I am ok with the natural look.

– Blue basket for sunglasses? Had it forever and spray painted it.

– White frame?  This was black and spray painted white.  I’ve had it for years.

– Canvas?  Bought with a 40% off coupon at Beverly’s and painted with sample paints leftover from selecting paint for Addie’s room.

All the other items we already owned and the branches are from our yard.

For hardly any money and through the power of paint we took our hallway from generic rental status (our house was a rental for years prior to our purchase of it) to a cozy homey look.

I love it.

I joke with hubby that the hallway is currently my favorite room.

I have two more little goals for the hallway.  An upgrade to the light (probably with paint until we can afford a new fixture).

And this.  


I have already commissioned my dad to make me one for Christmas.  We plan to track Addison’s growth on it.

It’s funny how adding a few simple touches to a small little area in our house made it seem so much more like a home.

{What do you think?  Do use paint for a lot of projects?  Have you made a small change that had a big impact on a space? What makes your house seem more like a home?}

___________________________
This post is part of a series!

Read from the beginning HERE!

Thanks for stopping by.

Linking withThe Shabby Nest

6 thoughts on “{The Power of Paint}

  1. I love everything that you did. I especially love the painting. I have a link party on Wednesdays, and I would love it if you would link this and any other posts. It is called Wednesdays Adorned From Above Link Party. It runs from Wednesday to Sundays.
    http://www.adornedfromabove.com/2012/10/almond-sugar-body-scrub-and-wednesdays.html
    I hope to see you there. Have a great Day.
    Debi Bolocofsky
    Adorned From Above
    http://www.adornedfromabove.com

  2. According to Paint, Nirvana.Int qualifies as the strongest American DotA team with a well set and balanced team. He also predicts the success of Nirvana.Int in the Asian scene due to their strong roster and excellent adaptability. With the picking abilities of Puppey and the innovative strategies of the team he is sure that with given time and practice Nirvana.Int can rise to be the top team in the world. Flip Flop Paint

Leave a Reply

