{The Lost Tradition}




Hospitality.


It is something I love.

Something I have been pondering lately.

But, hospitality isn’t new.  It’s been around forever.  It isn’t contingent upon our ability to produce a pinterest-worthy gathering.

In my mind hospitality is about the unplanned.  How hospitable are you when the moment presents itself *gasp* unplanned?

How I wish these unplanned moments happened more.  How I wish I could see someone strolling up the lane, just like they always seem to do in Lucy Maud Montgomery’s stories of a certain redhead.

How I wish I could meet them on the front porch, welcome them in, offer tea and treats.

Well, I’ve been working on it.

I’ve been baking.

What does that have to do with anything, you wonder?

It’s a lost tradition: baking day.

I have begun baking something every week.  I’ve been doing it all summer.

Chocolate chip Banana Bread, Zuchinni Bread, Chocolate Chip Cookies, Snickerdoodles, Apple Pie.

This way, I am prepared.  If someone did decide to drop by, I am ready to serve some treats.  Oh, and hubby likes them in his lunch as well.

But, people don’t really drop by anymore, do they?  It is taboo.  Everything must be scheduled. Besides, we are all about being “out and about” and often fear being “stuck” at home.

So, I try that too.  I try scheduling meet-ups.  And, you know what?  I get nervous.  I feel embarrassed about offering tea and cookies.

Why?  Who knows!?  Maybe because I am shy.  Maybe because I feel silly.  Maybe because I realize that in this day and age drinking tea, eating a cookie and chatting in the comfort of a home or yard or – if you are so blessed – a front porch, is no longer common.  Meeting at Starbucks is. Maybe I realize not everyone wishes they lived in a Green Gables era like I do.

For whatever reason, I hesitate.

I shouldn’t.  I’m working on it.  Maybe I’ll start a movement?  Who knows.  Don’t worry, though.  I’ll try not to drop by unannounced.  I’ll check first.  But, oh, to live in a world where you don’t worry about annoying people by dropping by unexpectedly.

If I’m honest, I don’t really want people dropping by unexpectedly sometimes.  What if I haven’t showered?  What if the house is a mess?  I suppose that is motivation for rising early and keeping a tidy home, eh?

Sometimes I think I should stop by my elderly neighbor’s house for a visit, but I don’t.  I should.

For now, however, I’ll keep baking.  I’ll keep the kettle on the stove.  I’ll wait for visitors.  I’ll invite.  I’ll attempt to muster up the courage to “pop in” for a visit with friends and neighbors.  

Will I see you?  Will you help bring back the tradition?


To lighten up this post, I’ll leave you with these gems that I found while looking for the quintesential hospitality pic for my heading.

THIS wedding shoot that I am obsessed with . . .




And this . . .



HA!

2 thoughts on “{The Lost Tradition}

  1. I totally agree with you!!! First of all I LOVE Anne of Green Gables, I am pretty sure I have seen the movie a million times and I aslo wish that I lived in her era 🙂 But I have wished many times that entertaining was as easy as it seemed back so long ago. I like your idea though of baking anyway and “keeping the kettle on” just in case. I think I will do that too 🙂 I love your blog by the way and check it often. My baby boy was born just a few days before your adorable little Addie, so it is fun to see what she is up to.

Leave a Reply

