{On Staying}

Yesterday I posted this picture to facebook.



With this caption.


How am I supposed to get up and start my day when this little angel is all snuggled against me?”


Here are some of the responses I received.
” You don’t. You stay. These moments are more fleeting that you could ever imagine. STAY.”


“Definitely stay. These moments change so quickly and the best place for you to be right now is where you are…laundry, and everything else can wait. ; )”


You definitely stay. Stay, stare and kiss ;)”
And, I stayed.


I stayed there, gazing at my sweet baby girl.


I couldn’t even bear to fall back asleep.  The sweetness of it overwhelmed me.


The temporary-ness of it crushed me.


So, yesterday was an extra snuggly day.


Even though the arms of a cousin and an Aunt were nearby to take over, I had a hard time putting her down.


Her head snuggled against me was too precious.


Her big, blue eyes, and her smiles and coos were too sweet.


It’s a miracle that the snickerdoodles were baked (thank you Aunt Ruth for holding her in the kitchen where I could chat with her and look at her silly faces).


It’s impressive that I actually fluffed the previous day’s laundry and took it out of the dryer.


Homemaker extraordinaire, I know.


But, this time is passing.  Our sweet girl is already ONE MONTH OLD!



I am terrified and excited at the same time.


I look forward to each new stage and I cringe at the loss of this newness, of this complete dependence on me.


Even now, as I watch her sleep soundly in her bouncy chair while I type, I am nostalgic.  How long will she fall asleep nuzzled into me?  How soon before her naps will be in a crib instead of my arms?  Yet, I look forward to crawling legs and first words and sloppy kisses.


So, I may be quiet on this blog sometimes.  I might be “staying where I am” and capturing the fleeting moments of my little girl’s life.


This poem was read at my Baby Shower.  It makes me cry every time.  Let’s see if your eyes stay dry.

    Song for a Fifth Child

      by Ruth Hulburt Hamilton

    Mother, oh Mother, come shake out your cloth,
    Empty the dustpan, poison the moth,
    Hang out the washing and butter the bread,
    Sew on a button and make up a bed.
    Where is the mother whose house is so shocking?
    She’s up in the nursery, blissfully rocking.Oh, I’ve grown shiftless as Little Boy Blue
    (Lullaby, rockaby, lullaby loo).
    Dishes are waiting and bills are past due
    (Pat-a-cake, darling, and peek, peekaboo).
    The shopping’s not done and there’s nothing for stew
    And out in the yard there’s a hullabaloo
    But I’m playing Kanga and this is my Roo.
    Look! Aren’t her eyes the most wonderful hue?
    (Lullaby, rockaby, lullaby loo).
    The cleaning and scrubbing will wait till tomorrow,
    For children grow up, as I’ve learned to my sorrow.
    So quiet down, cobwebs. Dust go to sleep.
    I’m rocking my baby and babies don’t keep.


2 thoughts on “{On Staying}

  1. Jenny,
    I am so glad you are STAYING with your sweet baby girl. It does go by so quickly and I wish I had done just that. Now Abigail is so big and she doesn't want to be held it is so sad. Enjoy these moments while you can. Each stage is amazing in it's own way, but it is just that, a stage, and it will change too. I am so happy for you guys. I love seeing all the pictures. You are all so happy to be together.
    Chelsea

Leave a Reply

