{Taking Risks with New Recipes}

** Welcome to the Working Wife Diaries!  This is where I share all that I am learning in the world of wifedom and working full-time. Yikes!  Sometimes I fail and sometimes I succeed, but it’s a process and one that I am happy to be a part of!  I hope these diaries leave you encouraged.  Please share comments with your own housewifery advice!
_________________________________________________________________________


I like to try new recipes.


Hubby is a doll and doesn’t complain . . . you know . . . since they aren’t all winners.


I try them. Modify them. Love them. Hate them.


Last night I made empanadas for the first time.  I altered some recipes that I found online here and here.  Overall, pretty good.  Not too difficult either. 


 I would make a few changes for sure, but I like the idea of empanadas.  You can put anything in them.  It’s sorta awesome.


So here is what I did.  You can take this basic recipe and alter it any way you like.  Neato, eh?


First, I cooked the ground beef on medium-high heat and drained the grease.

Then, I added one package of taco seasoning.

Next, I grated some cheese and mixed it in.  I would add more cheese next time and maybe a little water.

Finally, I added a can of sweet corn.  I would add black beans next time as well to increase the moisture.

While that sat on a warm burner, I moved onto making the shells or whatever you call ’em.  Can’t you tell that I’m a professional chef?


Bisquick and boiling H20 baby.  Easy peasy.  I might fiddle with the crust.  It cooked perfectly, but was a little bland and dry.  I might try a pastry recipe or my calzone crust instead. 

I use my Kitchen Aid Mixer to do the kneading for me.  I love you, Kitchen Aid Mixer.

Then I rolled the dough into 6 balls, which I then rolled out flat.

I placed about 1/2 a cup of the ground beef mixture on each circle of dough, wet the edges of the dough with water and folded it over.

I used a fork to seal the edges (plus it looks pretty that way) and then baked it at 400 degrees for about 18 minutes.

Waa Laa!  Empanadas.

I probably could have thinned out the crust and made 7 empanadas instead of 6, but I’ll have to wait until next time.

  So, are you like me?  


{Do you take recipe risks?}




Leave a Reply

