{What I Made Monday}

I got a little crafty last weekend.  It was a three-day weekend and I took full advantage of it.  I was thinking ahead to Valentines day, so I made this banner.



Here is how I did it.


I purchased 1/2 yard of burlap at $4.95 a yard.


I bought some paint brushes in various sizes and a stencil set at Michael’s (with a coupon of course).


I already had some fabric paint in various colors.


I cut the the burlap into even squares, making sure that I had enough squares for what I wanted to spell, plus an extra to separate the words.


Then, I used the stencils to paint the letters onto the burlap.  NOTE: Burlap is not a solid fabric, so put something under it when you paint.  Otherwise you end up having to scrub pink paint off your kitchen table like I did 🙂

Once the paint is dry, take out your ribbon, fabric, or twine in my case and your sewing machine.


I folded the burlap over the twine and sewed a basic straight stitch across each piece of burlap (be sure to leave plenty of extra twine for affixing the banner to its decorative location.


Alas, we do not have a mantle, but the piano serves as the perfect place for knick-knacks and banners.


I also whipped up this pillow and sewed on a few mismatchy buttons, so I could easily throw it over an existing pillow and then remove it after Valentines.

I love the banner, but I do not love burlap.  It gets EVERYWHERE!  Next time I will use canvas.  I plan on making a more permanent banner for this location, but I need to choose a phrase.  I want something uplifting, especially since every time I say the word banner I think of God’s love being a banner over me.


I have more love day decor planned, but I don’t know if I will get to it.  What with teaching, and preparing for a baby, and making hats for local shops.  That’s ok, though.  I want to make sure that I focus on showing hubby I love him at all times, more than I want my home decor to reflect a theme of love.


{What are your Valentine’s decor plans?}

Leave a Reply

