{Too Good to be Breakfast}

***The working wife diaries provides tips, shares trials, and just chats about the homemaking experiences of a working wife: ME!
_________________________________________________________________________
I have a delicious breakfast recipe for you.
It is also a quick recipe.  Even better, eh?

I began craving this breakfast meal on Sunday night, so Monday morning I whipped it up.  I am still enjoying it today. 

I can not express the joy of being able to actually fulfill a craving.  It is like manna from heaven, but probably tastier.
Most mornings I am rushing out the door to work, so it is either a bagel, toast, or oatmeal.
With the week off for Thanksgiving, I was able to indulge in a pregnancy craving.  Finally.
So, here is the recipe.  I learned to make this meal when I would babysit a particular family.  A particular family who now has one married daughter and one engaged daughter.  Who me?  No, I’m not old.
The mother often had me make this meal for dinner. 
Dutch Babies is the name of the meal.  Heard of it?  It is Delish.
Try it out and tell me what you think!
 

Ingredients

  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup sifted all-purpose flour
  • 1 pinch ground nutmeg or cinnamon (optional)
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 2 tablespoons confectioners’ sugar for dusting

    Directions

    1. Place a casserole dish with the butter in a 475 degrees F (245 degrees C) until it is completely coated with butter. .
    2. In a medium bowl, beat eggs with a whisk until light. Add milk and stir. Gradually whisk in flour, nutmeg/cinnamon and salt.
    3. Remove skillet from oven and reduce oven heat to 425 degrees F (220 degrees C).  Pour all the batter in the skillet and return skillet to oven.
    4. Bake until puffed and lightly browned, about 12 minutes. Remove promptly and sprinkle with powdered sugar.(Use syrup as well if you’d like: I do!)
Leave a Reply

