{What I Made Monday: A Giveaway!}

Welcome to {What I Made Monday}.
Today is our first giveaway!  I have been itching to start some giveaways and I will be doing one per month through the Holiday season.
I hope you are excited!
We have a lovely giveaway today from EvyLou: Original Art and Designs
1. What made you want to start a handmade business?
I started making handmade objects at a very young age. When I was in Junior High I created a product called Button Jar Bath Salts which I sold at local craft fairs along with my handmade greeting cards. On each jar of bath salts was a hand sewn yo-yo with a vintage button. I thought yo-yos would look super cute turned into headbands and hair accessories. After seeing the success my cousin had selling her jewelry on Etsy I decided to start my own shop to sell my designs. It took me quite a while to get the site up but now I’m hoping it will really begin to take off.
2. What inspires you as a handmade artist?
I love anything colorful. Over the years I have amassed quite a collection of fabric and vintage buttons. When making my headbands I pair bright, floral fabrics with coordinating vintage buttons. There are endless possibilities! Often I am inspired by nature–especially flowers. Most of my original artwork is based on different flowers like tulips and peach blossoms.
3. What are your goals for your handmade business?
So far I am selling my yo-yo headbands and note cards featuring my original artwork. I plan to create and sell handmade greeting cards as well as other types of yo-yo products such as hair clips and pins. I’m transferring as an art studio major to UC Davis this fall. I’m hoping that I can continue to manage my etsy site while at college. My dream is to grow my site significantly and with some luck begin to generate revenue!
4. Where is your favorite place to shop?
I simply adore shopping at French Quarter in downtown SLO. They carry so many cute, unique brands. But lately I have been discovering the art of thrift store shopping. I’ve found some real treasures! 
Evelyn will be giving away one of her lovely headbands!
**To Enter:
1. Leave a comment about your favorite item in the EvyLou shop.
2. For a second entry become a follower of The Sweet Stuff and leave a comment saying you follow The Sweet Stuff.
The giveaway will be open until Sunday.  Winners will be announced next Monday.
4 thoughts on “{What I Made Monday: A Giveaway!}

Leave a Reply

