{What I Made Monday: classroom edition}

I have a mere three weeks until it is back to the grind. 
One of those weeks will be spent on a vacation (more on that later).
That leaves two weeks for sewing projects, home organization, classroom beautification, and lesson planning.
That isn’t much time.
For that reason, hubby and I spent our Saturday painting my classroom. All of our Saturday.
After a lovely breakfast at Linnea’s, we headed out to Pismo Beach to see what could be done about my ancient classroom.  A classroom that was inhabited by the same teacher for many, many years.
I had picked up some Glidden paint in Sea Glass Green.  Doesn’t that sound lovely?  Calming?  Just saying “Sea Glass Green” puts me at ease.  
We covered the high walls of the room.  It made all the difference in the world!  It always amazes me what paint caN do!  You can take the dumpiest place, paint it, and all of the sudden it looks cheerful, bright, and clean.
The room was a dingy yellowy beige color with cracks and holes and spiders and dust before we covered it with the lovely Sea Glass Green.

Some of you may be thinking, “You can paint your classroom?!”  I didn’t technically ask for permission.  But, neither did the three other teachers in my hall who have painted their rooms at some point during the past 7 years.  This is an old school.  Truly, I did them a favor.
I also updated the chalkboard with black chalkboard paint.  It looks UHHHHH-MAZING.  I plan on using Bistro pens on it.  
I hate chalk, and the sound it makes. eeek.  Gives me chills.  Just like dull pencils and markers.  Ugh.  
I also added a small chalkboard area to the wall near the computers in my room.  This will be the Yearbook area.  I am slated to teach 7th advanced, 7th regular, and Yearbook this coming school year.
I also bought some black and white gingham fabric for $1.50 per yard and covered two bulletin boards with it.  I would have done some more organizing, but none of my boxes had arrived from the High School yet, which is worrisome.
In the meantime, I plan on sewing some bright pendant banners for the room.  I will also plan the room layout and begin working on some curriculum items.
I hope to wash all these windows this week.  You would think that perhaps custodians would do it, but the windows are naaaaasty.
I am so excited about this space and so ready to make a delightful place in which students can learn. I learn so much better in pretty places.  In the words of Anne of Green Gables, “It has so much scope for the imagination.”
{What was your favorite subject in school?}
3 thoughts on “{What I Made Monday: classroom edition}

  1. that was a HUGE painting job! it looks great, i LOVE the color. the kids are going to feel so happy when they walk in the door. i can't believe you only have three weeks of summer left, that seems WAY too soon to go back… but you are going to have so much fun with the j-highers 🙂 good luck with the rest of the remodel – post more pics soon!

  2. Way to go, Jenny! I love how your life is so filled with so many other things and yet you make a great amount of time to dress up your classroom and inspire others {your students, and your blog readers}. It looks great!

Leave a Reply

