{Teach a Man to Fish . . . or a Woman to Sew}

They (the all-powerful they) say that if you give a man to fish, you feed him for a day; if you teach a man to fish you feed him for a lifetime.
So, if that is true then this must be too:
If you teach a woman to sew you (insert a plethora of happy things here) her for a lifetime.
The possibilities are endless: you clother her, you supply her with a hobby, you grant her an outlet for creativity, and so much more!
I am in the early stages of learning to sew, but I love it. Especially when I finish a project!  My lines are not always straight.  I have a problem pinning.  I don’t like it.  I just like to sew.  I want to skip the cutting, drawing, and pinning and go straight to the foot down on the pedal good stuff.  It must be that lead foot of mine.  I like the feel of pedal to the metal, baby!
However, I am learning that patience pays off.  So does having friends who sew.  Or friends who have moms that sew!
My Christmas present was a sewing machine becuase I wanted to get all domestic up in here.  Since my curtain escapade, I have had little to show for myself.  I am in the process of making some throw pillows, but it is taking some time.  You know, the whole working full-time and managing a home thing.  No biggie.
Last night, my soon-to-be-mommy friend and my sis-in-law, and luke of course (who is walking now and had the presence of mind to attempt an escape from Beverly’s as he realized it really was no place for a boy, and he had been there too many times as it was already!) picked out some fun fabrics and made pillowcases.  Chelsea taught us using directions her mother had lovingly made for us!
I found some awesome fabric in the half-off pile and then picked out some polka dot prints that were also on-sale.  Combine that with my coupon and wha-BAM: $7.
Here is the final prodcut!
 I was so proud.  I kept refolding it and petting it and gazing lovingly at it as I put laundry away.  I must have told Hubster at least 10 times how “cool” it was and how I was a “seamstress” and how I felt so “accomplished” (too much Jane Austen inspired that word choice).  But honestly, I do feel those things.  I feel proud, I feel excited, I feel eager to make MORE!  How can one pillowcase so completely alter my attitude?  Actually, I don’t care why.  I like this feeling.  I don’t need to analyze it.  I just need to sew more!
{What new hobby have you or do you want to begin?}
One thought on “{Teach a Man to Fish . . . or a Woman to Sew}

  1. 🙂 Don't know you, but I know Scott. And you know my sister, Kate. I also love sewing, but have NO friends where I live that sew. So sad. Just made my girls Birthday Flags to hang on their birthdays!

Leave a Reply

