{Grandma and Apple Pie}

I decided to make 3 apple pies this morning.  Two to win over my husband’s family on Thanksgiving and one just for fun.  Though I have used internet recipes over the past few years, this year I asked my mom for Grandma’s apple pie recipe!  My grandmother always made multiple pies for Thanksgiving: pumpkin pies with leaf crust cutouts on top, apple with an apple shape cut into the crust, and pecan!  Her pies were always the best and most beautiful.  I remember the first time I made a pie with her and I was allowed to mix the apples in the cinnamon, sugar, butter, and flour mixture.  How proud I was!  Then, as I aged, I asked for the recipe and made a pie myself; I know it pleased my grandma that I was using her recipe. She was diagnosed with Lou Gehrigs disease and has rapidly declined in the last year.  On my wedding day a few months ago, my grandpa drove her down to see me (I always lived about a mile from her) since her illness prevented her from attending the ceremony.  Although she couldn’t speak, I could see the joy in her eyes as she looked at me and motioned for me to spin around.  She can no longer make pies; That is why, this year, I could not make any other pies than grandma’s pies.  She is a wonderful woman who always worked hard to supply her family with all that they needed.  I hope that I can be half the woman and wife that she was.  I love you Grandma.
{What’s your favorite Thanksgiving tradition?}
Leave a Reply

